The Garnet family has more than 10 different types with similar chemical structures. There is a slight difference between the types of garnet in color, specific gravity (density), and their refractive index. The name Garnet is derived from the Latin word Granatius  that means Seed because they are usually found in small crystals. The most common form of crystalline structure for the garnet is Cubic.

Garnet species are found in many colors including red, orange, yellow, green, purple, brown, blue, black, pink, and colorless, with reddish shades most common. Red garnets were the most commonly used gemstonesin the Late Antique Roman world.

Garnet Gemstones have been divided into six main categories:

  • Pyrope
  • Almandine
  • Spessartine
  • Grossular
  • Andardite
  • Uvaravite